Communication

Giving feedback: Throughout many experience in life I have learned that people become defensive when receiving feedback. Therefore, I have consistently made a point to note a positive behavior before noting a negative behavior. The feedback must always be constructive if it is negative. The reason to give feedback is to encourage continuation of a behavior or to change a behavior. If I know that something cannot be changed, there is no logical reason to critique it. This concept applies to client feedback as well as fieldwork educator feedback. “Have something to say, say it, stop talking.” This is an important quote to remember; take your turn to talk, then listen.

Receiving feedback: When receiving feedback, I typically feel very uncomfortable. Knowing this, I will keep in mind this is a learning experience. I do not usually get defensive as much as I feel uncomfortable reacting to positive feedback. However, in this case it is important to understand exactly what my fieldwork educator is trying to express and ask questions to clarify. Through the experience I will try to clarify exactly what I am doing wrong and what I am doing right while asking if feedback is not voluntarily given to me, and then be ready to make an effort to improve. “Most importantly, if you’re going to ask, be ready to change.”

Tips for receiving feedback : Look at criticism as an opportunity to learn, do not take it personally, really listen, don’t respond immediately, paraphrase the criticism, find the facts and admit mistakes

Nonverbal Communication: This aspect of communication includes gestures, facial expressionsTeach children how to draw faces and postures. This is very important when working with clients because my demeanor can either motivate or insult a client. This is especially where “fake it till you make it” comes into play. If I do not seem confident in treatment session, this will affect my client’s performance. If I am slumped over sitting in my chair, I will affect the energy in the entire room. If I am yawning and dragging my feet, my supervisor may assume I am unappreciative of the opportunity to be at this facility. My facial expression can also allude to judgements or feelings that can affect my relationships.

Ensure Open Communication: To ensure that communication is effective between my fieldwork educator and I, I have devised a list of tips:

  • Look interested and focus on the speaker: Nod, add small words of encouragement (yes, uh-huh), stand up straight, face the speaker, arms uncrossed, eye contact
  • Do not interrupt: verbally and actually listen, do not think about what you will say next
  • Repeat information back to the speaker for clarification
  • Ask for feedback

Crist, Patricia. (2012). Benefitting from your FW educator feedback. Advance for occupational therapy professionals. Retrieved November 11, 2013, from https://blackboard.unh.edu/bbcswebdav/pid-4022459-dt-content-rid-4959586_2/xid-4959586_2.

Resources:

https://blackboard.unh.edu/bbcswebdav/pid-4022457-dt-content-rid-4959737_2/xid-4959737_2

https://blackboard.unh.edu/bbcswebdav/pid-4022459-dt-content-rid-4959586_2/xid-4959586_2

https://blackboard.unh.edu/bbcswebdav/pid-4022460-dt-content-rid-4959717_2/xid-4959717_2

https://blackboard.unh.edu/bbcswebdav/pid-4022461-dt-content-rid-4959587_2/xid-4959587_2

Leave a Reply

