Time Management

Scheduling is a very important time management technique for me. It serves as a preventative measure as well as a stress reliever in chaotic times. I must schedule in time for my ADLs (eating,dressing, showering, hygiene), IADLs (driving, cleaning, cooking, laundry), sleep, leisure (crocheting, watching tv, going to the gym), social participation (spending time with friends and family, yoga) and work/education (40 hrs + fieldwork). It is important for me to focus on my own health and well-being before I can try and help my clients. This is essential to being the best therapist I can be. I am predicting that my typical day while at my fieldwork at the school will be spent as such:

06:00:00 AM Get dressed, pack a lunch + eat breakfast
07:00:00 AM Drive to fieldwork + arrive early for preparation
08:00:00 AM- 4:30:00 PM

Fieldwork + stay late for documentation/planning + drive home

04:30:00 PM Gym/yoga
05:30:00 PM Drive home + shower
06:30:00 PM Eat dinner with family
07:00:00 PM- 10:00:00 PM Watch television, crochet, read, etc.
10:00:00 PM- 6:00:00 AM SLEEP

By budgeting my time and creating schedules like this, I can avoid crisis. The four-quadrant model for time management provides a visual representation illustrating the best way to prioritize time. By tackling important and urgent problems first, you can then focus less pressing issues. The optimal position to be in is quadrant two. In order to remain in quadrant two you must be managing crisis, avoiding interruptions and busy work and limiting trivial and wasteful activities. For me wasteful activities includes staying off gaming and social media aps, putting away my cell phone and focusing in the moment. It also means not waiting until last minute to complete tasks and instead, thinking and planning ahead. I do not anticipate this will be a problem for me when working with clients because I know that people other than myself are relying on me, but I am aware that this may become a concern when participating in discussions or assignments for the blackboard course.

Department of employee and organizational development. (2012). Convey’s time management grid. US geological survey. Retrieved November 20, 2013, from http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=6&ved=0CDgQFjAF&url=http%3A%2 %2Fwww.usgs.gov%2Fhumancapital%2Fdocuments%2FTimeManagementGrid.pdf&ei=UmePUpqvF87isASV7IHYBg&usg=AFQjCNF-chwbcYF0poOCgWR4SY6c9Y5PgQ&bvm=bv.56988011,d.cWc

Leave a Reply

